5 Star Players From IPL 2008 To Play In IPL 2020

The Indian Premier League (IPL) was introduced by BCCI in 2008. It is almost 12 years now and many new faces have been launched. Many cricketers have reached the end of their careers like MS. Dhoni but are still part of 13th edition IPL 2020. IPL 2020 is about to start within 2 days from now i.e. 19 September 2020. So teams are ready with best combinations of new and old players who were part in 2008 IPL.

The IPL T20 format has brought a revolution in the cricket world. This tournament is a talent hunt and has always appreciated the skills of the players. The league has given chances to many new fresh faces and those who utilized it have become prominent faces of IPL league like KL Rahul, Manish Pandey and Sanju Samson and so on. So let us have a look at players who were part of IPL 2008 and will play in IPL 2020 organised in UAE.

MS Dhoni- (Chennai Super Kings)

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni who is leading CSK is the solid reason for CSK’s success. In the IPL 2008 auction, he was the most expensive player worth INR 6 crore. He led CSK in every season, except the two seasons when CSK was banned and when the ban was lifted, they were allowed to retain 5 players. Dhoni was one of the players they retained and was appointed as the captain of the team again

He brought the winning title to the team for 3 years and is holds number 1 ranking in terms of captainship. Dhoni has played 190 IPL matches and has scored 4432 runs at an average of 42.20 and a strike rate of 137.85. With his leadership skills, he may bring the fourth victory to his team in IPL 2020.

Virat Kohli – (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Virat Kohli

This man has not missed even a single IPL since 2008. He was picked by RCB in the U19 players. With his tremendous growth each year, the franchise handed over the captaincy too and he will be leading RCB once again in IPL 2020 tournament.

Kohli started captaincy in the year 2013. 2016 was a golden year as he was leading run-scorers’ list, thereby donning the Orange Cap at the end of the ninth edition of the league. Kohli is the highest run-scorer in the IPL history with 5412 runs in 177 matches at an average of 37.84 and a strike rate of 131.61, numbers which are a benchmark for rest players.

Rohit Sharma- (Mumbai Indians)

Rohit Sharma

He started his IPL career with Deccan Chargers and played there for 3 years till IPL 2010 . and played his part in winning 2009 IPL title for Deccan Chargers. After that, he was signed by Mumbai Indians (MI) in IPL auction. Since then he is playing for the Mumbai franchise and has captained them in seven editions.

Rohit’s career has blossomed after IPL started. This skipper is a boon for Mumbai Indian they won the IPL title four times in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019 respectively.

Rohit is the third-highest run-scorer (4,898 runs in 188 matches) in IPL history. He has one century and 36 half-centuries to his credit. The Hitman has struck 194 sixes and 431 fours in IPL.

Shikhar Dhawan- Delhi Capitals

Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan is among the star Indian players. He is best known for his aggressive ways to play. He started his IPL career with Delhi Daredevils, which got banned for a season and then he signed up with Mumbai Indians for a couple of seasons. he signed for Deccan Chargers (now Sunrisers Hyderabad) in 2011 and stayed with them for 7 years.

He won the 2016 Indian Premier League with Daren Sammy’s SRH, after a strong batting performance alongside captain David Warner and became the 5th highest run-scorer of the tournament.

Dhawan has scored 4578 runs in 159 IPL matches so far, at an average of 33.17 and a strike rate of 124.78 and he will continue to play for the Capitals, captained by Shreyas Iyer, in IPL 2020.

Chris Gayle –Kolkata Knight Riders

Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle started his career with KKR in IPL 2008 and was released in 2011. It was a bit surprising when Chris gayle being the most destructive player remained unsold. However he was signed by RCB in the middle of the 2011 season as an injury replacement for Dirk Nannes. From there on, he played with RCB for seven seasons

It was a misfortune that gayle could not perform in initial years of IPL but from the year 2011 onwards, he never looked back. His glory years were between 2011 and 2013, and he won the Orange Cap in 2012 and 2013. Gayle was bought by Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2018 auction and he will play for them in 2020 as well.

He has scored 4484 runs in 125 IPL games at an average of 41.13 and a strike rate of 151.02.

IPL is about a decade old, almost a generation gap. In this article, we have covered top 5 players from 1st edition IPL 2008 who are still contributing to 13th edition IPL 2020 in UAE.

Check our expert’s IPL predictions and learn who have chances to win this IPL 2020.