IPL 2020: 3 Super bowlers in the IPL history

Thanks to IPL, that helped India to find new fresh talent. Bowling was always India’s weakness before BCCI conducted IPL in 2008. There was barely a strong paced bowler who could clock 145 kmph consistently on the speedometer. Even after 12 seasons of IPL, only 3 Indian bowlers have managed to win an award for most wickets in particular seasons. Bowlers play a major role in the team’s success.

The wait is about to be over soon on 19th September 2020 for all cricket fans. IPL is unpredictable, sometimes unexpected things happen as recorded in IPL history. No doubt T20 is a batsman format but when it’s about super over, only a super bowler can bring the victory. Skills with temperament are all needed in that one-over eliminator. Let’s have a look at our three terrific bowlers who won the purple cup award and brought a major glory to the team.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar -2016, 2017

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

The only cricketer, who won the purple cap award twice for his outstanding performance in 2016 and 2017 IPL. He is a right-arm pace bowler from Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL. He got 23 wickets in 17 matches of 2016 IPL. With an incredible strike rate of 12.07 in 2017, he got 26 wickets in just 14 matches. Bhuvneshwar Kumar played as a vice-captain last year for Hyderabad team.

For this year tournament IPL 2020, Sunrisers have their best options as Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rashid khan. As Kumar is making a comeback after some injury but he is expected to perform crucial for the team when required. Rashid khan is another feather in their cap, there is a possibility that SRH may hand over the super over to him considering his IPL career economy.

Mohit Sharma-2014

Mohit Sharma

A right-arm fast-paced bowler from Chennai super kings stole the show in 2014 IPL. This purple cap award winner for the year 2014 bowled 53.5 overs with 23 wickets in 16 matches.  He performed at a phase where batsmen are not afraid of taking risks. That’s the reason his economy rate is quite high.

As per records in IPL history, CSK has only a few experiences of super over. So it’s a bit difficult to predict, as they have the best all-rounders. But their best options for both batting and bowling are MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja and Shane Watson for current IPL 2020 season.

R.P. Singh-2009

R.P. Singh-2009

The former player of Deccan chargers in IPL 2009 was the first Indian left-arm bowler who won this award. Rudra Pratap Singh, from Uttar Pradesh, took one four-wicket haul in that season with his bowling figures as 4/22. But sadly Deccan chargers (2008-2012) have been eliminated from IPL for a lifetime. So they are no longer the part of IPL 2020. This franchise was overtaken by Sunrisers Hyderabad after the owner Deccan chronicle went bankrupt in 2012.

After IPL was introduced in 2008, many players got the opportunity to take their career to peak. It was IPL, that changed the track of India’s bowlers.

Related Posts