Dream11 IPL 2020: Match 5; MI beats KKR by 49 runs

The 5th match of the tournament was played between Mumbai Indians and KKR at Abu Dhabi on Wednesday. Rohit Sharma was the focus of attention for his outstanding performance with six sixes. MIs set a challenging target of 195/5 for KKRs. MIS had their first victory in IPL 2020 after they lost playing against CSKs in the opening match.

Another star performer was Jaspreet Bumrah who didn’t let KKR score beyond 146 for 9 and wrapped up the game. KKR failed awkwardly in all the three departments; batting, bowling and Fielding. KKR has always kick-started by winning their 1st matches in the previous tournament from 2013 -2019. Unfortunately, it was not KKRs day. You can check the scoreboard here:

BatsmanDismissalRunsBallsFoursSixesFall of wicket
Trent Boult41302
Sunil Narinec de Kock b Pattinson9100125/2 Narine
Shubman Gillc Pollard b Boult7111014/1 Gill
Shivam Mavist de Kock b Chahar91010146/9 Mavi
Rahul Chahar40262
Pat Cumminsc Pandya b Pattinson331214141/8 Cummins
Nitish Ranac Hardik b Pollard24182177/4 Nitish
Nikhil Naikc Pandya b Boult 1300103/7 Naik
Kuldeep Yadavnot out1200
Krunal Pandya10100
Kieron Pollard30211
Jasprit Bumrah40322
James Pattinson40251
Eoin Morganc de Kock b Bumrah162011100/5 Russell
Dinesh Karthiklbw b Chahar30235071/3 Karthik
Andre Russellb Bumrah111120101/6 Morgan
Total 146/920overs
BatsmanDismissalRunsBallsFoursSixesFall of wicket
Quinton de Kockc Naik b Mavi13008/1 de Kock
Rohit Sharmac Cummins b Mavi80543698/2 Suryakumar
Suryakumar Yadavrun out (Narine/Morgan)472861147/3 Tiwary
Saurabh Tiwaryc Cummins b Narine211311177/4 Rohit
Hardik Pandyahit wkt b Russell181321177/5 Hardik
Kieron Pollardnot out13710141/8 Cummins
Krunal Pandyanot out130077/4 Nitish
Nikhil Naikc Pandya b Boult 1300103/7 Naik
Kuldeep Yadavnot out1200
Krunal Pandya10100
Total 195/520overs
Sandeep Warrier30340
Shivam Mavi41322
Pat Cummins30490
Sunil Narine40221
Andre Russell20171
Kuldeep Yadav40390

MI vs KKR Playing XI

KKR Playing XI:

Dinesh Karthik(captain/ WK),

Sunil Narine, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Nikhil Naik, Pat Cummins, Kuldeep Yadav, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Mavi

MI playing XI:

Rohit Sharma(Captain), Quinton de Kock(WK),

Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Top Performers:

Man of the Match– Rohit Sharma 80(54)

Top batsman– Pat Cummins 33(12) and Suryakumar Yadav 47(28)

Top Bowler– James Pattinson 2/25

Milestones Achieved

  • MIS 1st victory on UAE ground as they lost all the four matches in 2014 IPL plus the opening match of IPL 2020 against CSKs.
  • MIs became the 1st IPL team to have won 20 matches against KKR.
  • Rohit is the first player to pile 900+ runs in the IPL against an opponent. He has aggregated 904 runs from 26 IPL matches against the Kolkata Knight Riders.
  • Pat Cummins became the first player in the IPL history to score runs strike rate of 250+ with 15+ economy rate in the same IPL match [Min: 12 balls batted and 12 balls bowled].
  • Andre Russell is now the 2nd bowler in the IPL history to register two wickets via hit wicket after S.Sreesanth.
Also Read

Champions Mumbai Indians to Interact with fans via Whatsapp